So where am I coming from?

Seeing as this is my first post on my first attempt at blogging, it would seem necessary to begin with a bit of background. You can read the short version in the “About” section if you’re not interested in reading much.

So, I’m a 21 year old college student (almost 22 now) who’s into anime. “Whaaaat?! But you’re so old to be into anime!” you say? Probably. It’s something I really enjoy though, and that’s not looking like it’s going to change any time soon. You’re never too old to be doing what you enjoy. Anyways, excluding the Speed Racer and DBZ reruns I would occasionally catch on Cartoon Network, my first real exposure to anime was probably Love Hina in middle school. I read the first volume of the manga at a friend’s house, and went home to download the whole set on my epic 56k internet over the course of the next two or three days. I was exposed to various other manga through this friend; probably the only notable of which was Rurouni Kenshin.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I went on an anime hiatus for a while after middle school and didn’t really pick up on it again until my sophomore year of high school. The primary reason behind this was probably the fact that I had no idea what to watch. Eventually, an acquaintance of mine suggested that I watch Bleach. I did just that. I was a bit behind the times, and still only had dial-up internet at home. To get my weekly bleach fix, I would bring my flash drive to school, use it during my computer class with my bookbag to cover it up, and download bleach episodes through a proxy. It was an ordeal, but I was hooked on my first ever anime series.

 

I was hooked on Bleach for quite some time. However, once again I didn’t know what else I should be watching. It wasn’t until the summer after my senior year of high school when I finally sat down, found an anime streaming site, and watched whatever seemed like it may appeal to me. It was here I found gems such as Death Note and the original Fullmetal Alchemist. This was really the summer that set my addiction in stone.

Since then, I’ve watched hundreds of anime (although I’ve barely scratched the surface of the hundreds I still want to view). I’m usually watching at least a couple of the currently airing shows, as well as marathoning (or taking my time with) older series that I missed the boat on. Honestly, I’m not expecting this blog to go anywhere. It’s my first attempt at blogging, and I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not the greatest linguist or most interesting guy around. However, I like the idea of having a place to get my thoughts out in the open. In the end, I hope that this will help some anime fan out there figure out what series they want to start on next. Maybe this will convince someone else to watch an anime or two to see what all of this is about. Time will tell.

Lastly, what I’m going to be striving to do is simply blogging about what anime I’m currently watching once or twice a week. There will most likely be spoilers, although if I’m doing a first episode I’ll do what I can to keep it to a minimum. I hope you all enjoy reading Animetem!

4 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous

4 responses to “So where am I coming from?

  1. Heyy there. :]
    Well, I’ll be looking forward to your posts.

    I’m reading Kenshin right now and it’s really good. x]
    I haven’t finished yet but did you like the ending of the manga?

    • Actually, as awkward as it is, I never actually finished the manga. I have volumes 1-8, but for whatever reason I got distracted and never ended up getting the rest of them. It’s definitely something I plan on finishing, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet…

Leave a Reply

